Writing Prompt: You are the interpreter for the wind. What is it saying?

“Child, I know you’re cold and feeling small. I know my gentle touch sends a chill into your bones. I know you want me to leave you alone. But remember a cool breeze on a hot night. Remember your lover’s hair tossed just so. Remember power outages where you played Uno with your family, and how that was the happiest you all were together. It is in our nature to be happy.

Though you love me when I’m like this, I can’t keep myself small. I must blow and howl and gust, just like you must cry and wail and knock your fists into things that will hurt you. It is in our nature to storm.

I am a part of you. I have been with you your whole life, and I alone will continue after you’ve died. I will not leave you, but you will leave me. One day, I will try to tousle your hair after a hard day and you will not be there. I will sigh and moan and regret your loss, but I will also move on. It is in our nature to keep moving.

You do not always like me. But sometimes you do. That is enough.”

One thought on “Writing Prompt: You are the interpreter for the wind. What is it saying?

  1. Hey, how fun! I love these prompts. I think I may have the same writing prompt book as you, and was actually about to put this same prompt on my site tomorrow. It is one of my favorite.

    I love yours. Especially the comparisons between humans and wind. Lovely!

    Jewel Eliese
    momwhowrites.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

